I have posted several articles over
the past year of new laws signed by Governor Quinn that went into effect on
January 1, 2014. Below is a review of the main laws that took effect this week.
98-0511 amended the Illinois Vehicle Code, 625 ILCS 5/11-601, it changes the
existing legal speed limit from 65 mph to 70 mph on all rural interstates. The
Act also allows eight counties (Cook, DuPage, Kane, Will, McHenry, Lake,
Madison and St. Clair) with heavily congested highways to opt out and maintain
the current 55 mph speed limit.
also strengthened speed laws on all streets, highways, and roads throughout
Illinois. Anyone speeding 26 mph over the posted limit will now be charged with
a Class B misdemeanor and speeding 35 mph or more over the posted limit will be
charged with a Class A misdemeanor. Also, keep in mind that supervision is no
longer available for drivers who are caught speeding 31 mph over the posted
speed limit. Supervision is a type of court probation that allows defendants to
plead guilty and pay a fine. The charge is removed from the defendant’s record
if they do not receive any other tickets or arrests during the time period set
by the court (typically between 3 months to a year). If supervision is
completed successfully then there are no points added to the driver’s record
and the driver’s insurance rates are not affected.
98-0506 bans the use of hand-held cell phone devices behind the wheel.
Bluetooth headsets, earpieces, and voice activated commands are permitted. The
only exemptions from this law apply to law enforcement officers or
first responders; drivers reporting emergencies and drivers using electronic
devices while parked on the shoulder of a roadway. Those who violate this
Section shall be fined a maximum of $75 for a first offense, $100 for a second
offense, $125 for a third offense, and $150 for a fourth or subsequent offense.
distracted drivers who injure others or cause fatal crashes by the use of a
cell phone would face a Class A misdemeanor, which could result in fines up to
$2,500 and less than a year of jail time. Drivers involved in fatal accidents
could be charged with a Class 4 felony, which carries fines up to $25,000 and
up to three years of jail time.
so watch how fast you are driving (or you could be charged with a misdemeanor)
and remember to stay hands free when talking on the phone while driving.
If you or
someone you love has been injured in a Chicago car accident or Chicago truck accident, then call Chicago personal injury attorney Aaron Bryant for a freelegal consultation at 312-588-3384.